

Press release

New ERC Scientific Council members appointed

5 February 2016

Today, two new members of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC) have been appointed by the European Commission: Professor Sir Christopher Clark and Professor Barbara Romanowicz.

Sir Christopher Clark is Regius Professor of History at the University of Cambridge and Barbara Romanowicz is professor and chair in Physics of the Earth's interior at the Collège de France, and is also professor of Geophysics at the UC Berkeley, USA. Their mandate is for four years.

These new members have been selected by an independent <u>Identification Committee</u>, composed of six distinguished scientists appointed by the Commission. The scientific community was consulted in this process. The Committee is currently working on the identification of another two new members.

The ERC Scientific Council, composed of 22 distinguished scientists and scholars representing the European scientific community, is the governing body of the European Research Council. Its main role is setting the ERC strategy and selecting the peer review evaluators.

Biographies

Professor Sir Christopher Clark

Current position: Regius Professor of History at University of Cambridge, UK

Professor Sir Christopher Clark received his PhD at the University of Cambridge, having been a member of Pembroke College, Cambridge from 1987 to 1991. His research interests are centred on the history of nineteenth-century Germany and continental Europe. His early work focused on the political and cultural history of religion. Prof. Clark is regarded internationally as a leading historian of modern Germany. Since 1991 he has been a Fellow of St. Catharine's College. In 2003, he was appointed University Senior Lecturer in Modern European History and in 2006, Reader in Modern European History. His Cambridge University Professorship in Modern European History followed in 2007. In 2014 he was appointed Regius Professor of History at Cambridge. His two most prominent works are 'Iron Kingdom' (2006), a history of Prussia, and 'The Sleepwalkers' (2012), on the origins of the First World War.



European Research Council

Established by the European Commission

Professor Barbara A. Romanowicz

Current position: Chair of Physics of the Earth's Interior at Collège de France, Paris and Professor of Geophysics at the University of California, Berkley

Barbara Romanowicz was born and educated in France, where she studied mathematics at the Ecole Normale Supérieure and holds a PhD degree in Geophysics from the University of Paris 7. Between 1982 and 1990, as a researcher at the CNRS, she developed GEOSCOPE, a then state-of-the-art global network of digital seismic stations for the study of earthquakes and the structure of the earth's interior. In 1991, she was appointed Director of the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory and professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Science at UC Berkeley. During her directorship (until 2011), she helped establish a joint real time earthquake notification system for northern California between the BSL and the US Geological Survey. Her research interests include the study of deep earth structure and dynamics using seismological tools, and recently, implementing numerical seismic wavefield computations in seismic tomography. She also has an interest in earthquake processes and scaling laws, the development of modern broadband seismic and geophysical observatories on land and in the oceans. Among honors received, she was elected to the US National Academy of Sciences in 2005 and has recently been appointed to the chair of Physics of the Earth Interior at Collège de France in Paris.

Note to the editors

The European Research Council, set up by the European Union in 2007, is the first European funding organisation for excellent frontier research. Every year, it selects and funds the very best, creative researchers of any nationality and age, to run projects based in Europe. The ERC also strives to attract top researchers from anywhere in the world to come to Europe. To date, the ERC has funded nearly 6,000 top researchers at various stages of their careers.

The ERC consists of an independent Scientific Council and an Executive Agency. The Scientific Council, the ERC's governing body, is composed of 22 eminent scientists and scholars, including the ERC President, who define the scientific funding strategy and methodologies. They act on behalf of the scientific community in Europe to promote creativity and innovative research. Since 1 January 2014, Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon is the ERC President and the Chair of the Scientific Council.

The ERC is part of the EU research and innovation programme, Horizon 2020, for which European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Carlos Moedas is responsible.

Links

ERC website
ERC Scientific Council

ERC Press contacts

Madeleine Drielsma
Press and Communication adviser
Phone: +32 (0)2 298 76 31
erc-press@ec.europa.eu

Marcin Mońko
Press and Communication adviser
Phone: +32 (0) 2 296 66 44
erc-press@ec.europa.eu

