

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 11 July 2006 11551/06 (Presse 213)

## Council approves Slovenia's accession to the Euro area

The Council today adopted<sup>1</sup> a decision allowing Slovenia to join the euro area as from 1 January 2007, making it the first to adopt the euro out of the ten member states that joined the EU on 1 May 2004, with six months to prepare for the changeover.

The Council also adopted a regulation<sup>2</sup> fixing a permanent conversion rate between the Slovenian tolar and the euro.

Adoption of the euro as Slovenia's currency will occur at the same time as the issuing of euro notes and coins. The permanent conversion rate is set at 239.64 Slovenian tolars to the euro, which corresponds to the current central rate of the tolar within the EU's ERM II exchange rate mechanism.

The Council encouraged Slovenia to continue with appropriate policies to ensure that it can make the most of the benefits of joining the euro, in particular as regards budgetary rigour, structural reform and maintaining the competitiveness of its economy.

<sup>2</sup> Regulation amending regulation 2866/98.



Rue de la Loi 175 B - 1048 BRUSSELS Tel.: +32 (0)2 281 6319 Fax: +32 (0)2 281 8026 press.office@consilium.europa.eu http://www.consilium.europa.eu/Newsroom 11551/06 (Presse 213)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The decision was taken at a meeting of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council.

Twelve of the EU's 25 member states currently use the euro as their currency: Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Austria and Finland. Euro notes and coins were introduced in all twelve countries on 1 January 2002.